A Call for Peace

Crest of the City of Baltimore

Bernard C. "Jack" Young
Baltimore City
250 City Hall - Baltimore Maryland 21202
(410) 396-3835 - Fax: (410) 576-9425

Better Schools. Safer Streets. Stronger Neighborhoods.


James E. Bentley II
(443) 257-9794

[email protected]


BALTIMORE, Md. (April 26, 2015)—The following statement was issued by leaders in Baltimore's faith community, regarding demonstrations over the death of Freddie Gray.

"From the days of our nation’s earliest civil rights sit-ins, Baltimore has a long tradition of peaceful and respectful demonstrations. Together, as leaders of different faiths in our city, we join Mayor Stephanie Rawlings-Blake and call for our citizens to honor and continue that history as we pray for the family of Freddie Gray."

The statement is signed* by:

  • Rev. Dr. Frank M. Reid, III,  Bethel AME
  • Rev. Dr. Todd Yeary, Douglas Memorial Community Church
  • Bishop Denis J. Madden, Archdiocese of Baltimore
  • Bishop Marcus Matthews, Resident Bishop, Baltimore-Washington Conference of United Methodist Church
  • Rev. Dr. Jamal H. Bryant, Empowerment Temple AME Church
  • Bishop Walter Scott Thomas, New Psalmist Baptist Church
  • Rev. Dr. Harold A. Carter, New Shiloh Baptist Church
  • Minister Carlos Muhammad, Muhammad Mosque Number Six
  • Rev. Dr. Donte Hickman, Southern Baptist Church
  • Rev. Dr. Harlie Wilson, II, Israel Baptist Church
  • Rev. Dr. Darron D, McKinney, Sr., Macedonia Baptist Church of Baltimore City
  • Pastor Ben Barnwell, New Creation Church of Jesus Christ
  • Rev. Dr. Cleveland Mason, Perkins Square Baptist Church
  • Bishop Willard E. Saunders, Sr., Created For So Much More Worship Center
  • Bishop James Nelson, Destiny Christian Church
  • Bishop Michael McDermott, Life Source International Church
  • Rev. Dr. Lester McCorn, Pennsylvania Avenue AME Zion Church
  • Rev. Dr. Alvin C. Hathaway, Sr.,Union Baptist Church
  • Rabbi Andrew Busch, Baltimore Hebrew Congregation
  • Pastor Carl Pierce, Carter Memorial Church of God in Christ
  • Bishop Marcus Johnson, New Harvest Ministries
  • Bishop Angel Nunez, Bilingual Christian Church
  • Rev. Charles Baugh, Waters AME Church
  • Rev. Dr. Toni Draper, Freedom Temple AME Zion

*It is important to note that the above names represent clergy leaders who have signed on to this statement as of 10:30 am on Sunday, April 26. The list is expected to continue growing.

Related Stories

Mayor Young and DHCD Announce Developer for Tivoly Triangle in Coldstream Homestead Montebello

BALTIMORE, MD.  — Today, the Baltimore City Department of Housing & Community Development (DHCD) announced that Urban Green – LNW&A Development Team has been granted the de

City Processes Hundreds of Real Property Transactions During First Week of Manual Workaround

BALTIMORE, MD.  — The City of Baltimore processed 462 applications for property deeds during the first week of a manual workaround designed to allow real estate tr

City handles dozens of real property transactions during first day of manual workaround

BALTIMORE, MD.  — The City of Baltimore processed 42 applications for property deeds during the first day of a manual workaround designed to allow real estate tran