Local Control Advisory Board

The Local Control Advisory Board is a community-driven advisory board tasked with studying and making recommendations on issues related to the transition of control of the Baltimore Police Department from the State of Maryland to the City of Baltimore.

At the request of Mayor Scott, Maryland lawmakers passed SB0786 during the 2021 legislative session. The legislation established the Local Control Advisory Board to help guide the process and made final approval of the transition contingent on City voters through a charter amendment which must be put on the ballot.

The Board must submit an interim report to the City Council, General Assembly, and Governor by December 1, 2021, and a final report by December 1, 2022. The Mayor has set a goal of getting local control on the ballot in 2022.


Membership Roster:

Organization Representative Designee
Mayor's Office Mayor Brandon M. Scott  
Maryland Senate Cory McCray  
Maryland House of Delegates Stephanie Smith  
Police Commissioner Michael Harrison Andy Smullian
Mayor's Office of Neighborhood Safety and Engagement Shantay Jackson  
Chief Equity Officer Dana Moore  
City Council President Nick Mosby Nikki Thompson
City Solicitor Jim Shea  
Civilian Review Board Tyler Salley  
Community Member Mark Washington  
Community Member Ray Kelly  
Community Member Caylin Young  
FOP Robert Cherry  
Vanguard tbd  
No Boundaries Ashiah Parker  
NAACP Tre Murphy  
CASA Lydia Walther Rodriguez  
Citizens Advisory Commission for Public Safety

(ex officio)
Tyler Adamson  


Meeting Files

Meeting Agenda Minutes
No meeting files are available yet!


Meeting details will be shared on this page.  We have the following meeting dates scheduled.

  • Wednesday, October 27th
  • Monday, November 8th
  • Tuesday, November 30th